Meta-owned messaging platform WhatsApp has confirmed via Twitter that it will now allow users to delete messages within a time span of two days after they are sent.
Rethinking your message? Now you’ll have a little over 2 days to delete your messages from your chats after you hit send.
— WhatsApp (@WhatsApp) August 8, 2022
Following this tweet, WABetaInfo which shares real-time news about WhatsApp tweeted saying that the actual time limit for deleting messages will be two days and 12 hours.
2 days, 12 hours
— WABetaInfo (@WABetaInfo) August 8, 2022
Earlier, the time limit for deleting a WhatsApp message was 1 hour, 8 minutes and 16 seconds.
Other than this update, WhatsApp will also come up with a new feature where group admins will have the option to delete messages for everyone.
All these changes will be visible in WhatsApp’s new update through the Google Play Beta Program, with the version being 18.104.22.168.
Furthermore, the Meta-owned platform is also working on a new feature that will let users edit their text messages for a future update on the app.
In addition to all this, Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg recently shared news about the development of three new privacy features on WhatsApp. All this comes after Mark Zuckerberg launched a global campaign which is currently pertaining to only India and UK and soon other countries will join.
These three features will consist of past participants, who can when you are online and screenshot blocking.
WhatsApp users present in the group will be able to view participants who left or were removed from the group in the last 60 days. This feature has already been made available to users who have installed WhatsApp beta for Android 22.214.171.124 and WhatsApp beta for iOS 126.96.36.199 updates.
Who can see when you’re online?
This feature was under development for both iOS and Android. This privacy setting will give one more control over who can see you online.
When WhatsApp introduced the View Once feature for sending photos and videos, users complained that people would resort to taking screenshots. However, with this new feature users when selecting the View Once option will also be able to block screenshots.
By introducing these features, WhatsApp has added a new layer of privacy.